Working with nValt and Devonthink simultanously + enter markdown link in note

Dear Forum,

just took the plunge and bought hook without testing it because I loved the idea. (also like to to support artisan software). I am a researcher and clinician and, to be blunt, have no clue about apple script nor much time to learn in depth.(I hope this is not offensive to all the people here trying to help / putting free time into the community support, which is highly appreciated, but unfortunately this is the harsh reality: long hospital hours, young family, research publication deadlines).

I have to important systems in my digital life: devonthink for almost anything (and trying to expand that to clinical notes) and nValt / Simplenote for clinical pearls, notes and when disciplined research. I now would like to have the following behavior:

1. create a new note with “hook to new” in either Devon-think or nValt / Simplenote
  2. have a markdown link pasted at the beginning of the note (markdown seems to be most universal and maybe useful in iOS as well if other apps open the note-files)
  3. ideally have the note available in both systems at the end (nValt as well as devonthink3) as due to several reasons can’t abandon one system for the other (I do own hazel without getting much use out of it, admittedly, that could maybe help here?) this is ideally with preserved hook links.

If this were possible, I would need a “for dummies” explanation and loads of hand-holding.

Thanks in advance for taking the time and creating a great piece of software.

Kind regards,

J.

welcome to the Hook Productivity Forum, @dr.cox. Thanks for the kind words.