Using nvALT with Hook

I’ve put together a little blog post on Hook Productivity with nvALT and Marked 2 apps by Brett Terpstra – Hook. I thought we could perhaps discuss nvALT in relation to Hook here. I’ll start a separate topic for Marked2.

I see that this thread never took off, or perhaps it became a Marked 2 discussion? Of course I am new to Hook. And I am a long time user of NVAlt.

Of course I tested NVAlt with Hook right away. It is not behaving in a way that I am able to find useful however. To explain. I use NVAlt to collect my ideas all the time. It is my base level “catch all” of well, everything that I am thinking of.

When I am on a specific NVAlt topic and I collect the Link and paste the link into a different document that I am working on, TaskPaper, Nisus, whatever, clicking that NVAlt link should take me back to the NVAlt page I was on when I made the link. Except that, it doesn’t.

To test this, first select a specific NVAlt page as I have just described. Then, select a different NVAlt page, then close/quit NVAlt. Now try the Hook link on the other document. It won’t open the page you linked to in NVAlt, but the last page you had selected before you closed NVAlt.

I would love it if this worked as I use NVAlt all the time. If this worked, I could make all my stop notes a part of a new NVAlt page and link it to all my project pieces. I will start to explore how Hook can create a new note taking page at some point. As I am already doing that in NVAlt, it is too bad that I will have to think of yet another, different, way of doing things.

My Notational Velocity preferences are to save my NVAlt documents as individual rich text files. They are stored in the default location user/library/application support/notational velocity.

I’m preempting the first questions support will ask:

1. Is your macOS language set to English?
  2. What version of Hook, and what version of Hook scripts are you running?
  3. What version of nvALT are you using?