Using Hook to generate DEVONthink links within other applications?

I use DEVONthink to store all my work-related files (I’m a freelance writer and researcher). It offers a ton of features that help me manage the many different projects I’m working on. In my markdown notes, I heavily rely on creating links between documents to help me organize and quickly access relevant information.

File transclusion and [Wiki Links] aren’t standard features in markdown or MultiMarkdown, so most applications have different ways of handling it. I’ve been using DEVONthink and Notebooks together, with the latter as a makeshift front end for the former. (I don’t like using DEVONthink’s text editor, so I use Notebooks instead.) DEVONthink indexes my Notebooks files into a separate read-only database. I make all my edits in Notebooks, but I render the files in DEVONthink. Since both applications use MultiMarkdown, the two apps work well together. (Obsidian and many similar “second brain” applications use different flavors of markdown that are less compatible with DEVONthink.)

There are a few different syntaxes I could use for linking documents. My preferred route is to use x-devonthink-item links. (In my setup, this syntax is more straightforward than using /links/to/the/full/filepath.md or application-specific URLs ie. notebooks://show/My%20Life/Reading%20Notes/TEMPLATE.md.)

I think Hook might be able to help me automate my inter-document linking process and alleviate some cognitive burden. Hook’s “Copy Markdown Link” command has been a major time-saver for me. But still, it requires a bit of an awkward workflow in my case where I need to switch back and forth between different application windows a few too many times.