Structure of Links?

I’m new to Hook and notice that the Hook links, however robust in functions, seem a bit verbose in plain text context and I can’t totally understand the roles played by different parts. My first observations are:

• After the invariable hook://file/ prefix comes first a hash of the pointer to the file.
  • In the end, the n parameter indicates the file name.

My questions are:

• What are other parameters (e.g., the p parameter) for? Is there additional parameter in Hook file links other than above ones?
  • Are all parameters essential for Hook to be fully functional?
    • For example, I tried to remove the n (presumably is simply the file name) parameter from a link and the remaining part works as well as the original. Does that mean the n parameter is optional and will there be an option to create a link without it?
    • The question is of practical importance because as a Chinese user, the n parameters are always encoded tokens of Chinese characters that don’t give any useful information as in English contexts and take lots of room in markdown editors.

Thanks in advance!

Hello,

Thanks for being interested in Hook.

The information encoded in URL was not designed to be human readable. It was intended for Hook to be able to locate the file in various situations. To make sure a link to be robust, please do not delete any part of the URL. In some situations, Hook is able to locate the file without consulting all parameters, that is why your experiment worked.

If you use MarkDown, the Copy Markdown Link command will output both the title and URL in the format of [title](URL), where title is not encoded. So the reader of the markdown would only see the meaningful title instead of long URL with proper MarkDown viewer/editor.

Best regards,

Brian Shi

CogSci Apps Corp.