Quicker way to Copy a Link?

I’m new to Hook, and love the concept, but it seems to take an extraordinary number of clicks to do what should be a fairly basic task:

To copy a link to something (a file on the desktop, say), I have to click on the file, then the Hook icon in the menu bar, then move the pointer to the Hook window and click the down-arrow, and then click on ‘Copy Link’. All my Mac instincts say I should be able to right-click on the file and ‘Copy Hook Link’ should be selectable from the contextual menu, either in the menu itself or in the submenu under ‘Services’.

Am I missing something? If not, could this be implemented, please?

Martin

Welcome to the Hook Productivity Forum , @martinstaylor, and thanks for asking.

The main entry point to Hook is a configurable global keyboard shortcut (⌘⇧SPACE by default), per Getting Started – Hook . By “global” I mean you do not need to invoke Hook to get to it.

So, the typical dance is:

1. invoke Hook with its keyboard shortcut.
  2. Copy Link or Copy Markdown Link

In Hook 2.0, there will also be two new global keyboard shortcuts, so that you can skip the first step.

1. One for Copy Link
  2. one for Copy Markdown Link
1 Like

Thanks Luc. My point is that when I invoke Hook I’ve normally just clicked on the thing I want to link to, so my hand is on the mouse and it’s easier and quicker to use the mouse than the keyboard. So the dance is three clicks:

1. Move the mouse to the menubar and click on the Hook menu
  2. Move the mouse across the screen and click on the down arrow in the Hook pane
  3. Click on ‘Copy Link’

It would be vastly easier if I could copy the link by right-clicking on the original object.

What you say about Hook 2.0 is going to be very welcome (when is it due?), but it would still be nice if ‘Copy Link’ were available directly from a contextual menu.