OmniFocus, Basecamp, and Keyboard Maestro

• Hook and Basecamp work perfectly together—if I use BC in a browser. I prefer to have it in a separate application.
  • Basecamp has an api, so it seems possible that Hook might support it directly one day.
  • Basecamp provides a dedicated app (basically an electron wrapper), but opportunities for user scripting seem limited. There’s a menubar command to copy the URL of any page, but no affordance to input a URL.
  • I can also use Basecamp in a dedicated webpage-wrapper app like Fluid or Unite. I’ve written to the Unite developer to suggest Hook integration, so maybe one day.
  • But in the meantime, Fluid does allow both copying and pasting URLs within the app wrapper. This implies to me that user scripting could work, but I have little knowledge of AppleScript. (I’d love to learn, but wouldn’t dedicate the necessary time at this point.)
  • But I’ve worked out a kludgy solution with Keyboard Maestro.

The basic model is:
A. In the Basecamp Fluid app, I simply want to do Cmd-L, Cmd-C to copy the URL. That’s trivial in KM, but I did a clever-ish trick to save myself learning a new hotkey:

Across all applications, I use Kourosh Dini’s trick of a KM macro to combine the Opt-Shft-Space + Cmd-C Hook commands (plus corresponding paste). Those macros used to be in the Global Macro Group, but I moved them to a new global group named Hook, where they work everywhere except the Basecamp Fluid app. Then for the Basecamp Fluid group, I mapped the same copy hotkey (Ctrl-Opt-Cmd-C) to do the Cmd-L, Cmd-C I need. That way I can use the same Hook copy shortcut wherever I am, regardless of the fact that Hook would normally report no linkable item in the Basecamp Fluid app.