MacOS Finder Extension

I’m new to Hookmark and have installed Hookmark v6.0.1 I’m using MacOS 13.6.1 Ventura. Note that I install apps when in the admin account, but run things in a user account.

For some reason I cannot find or use the Hookmark Finder extension, despite looking in all the obvious places in the various library folders.

Can someone tell me where I can find it and if it’s not installed how I can install it.

If you go to System settings and search “Finder”, click on Finder Extensions->Added extensions, can you see Hookmark in the list? If yes, please turn it on. If it is on already, turn it off first then turn it on.

Thank you

Thanks for the response. I’ve done that but the Hookmark extension isn’t listed. For some reason it doen’t seem to have been installed when I installed Hookmark. I think it should be in the system library folder somewhere.

Hookmark extension is in the Hookmark app. Not sure system has done anything to it. Is your Hookmark in Applications folder?

Could you please run the following command in Terminal and see if it helps?
pluginkit -e use -i “com.cogsciapps.hook.FinderExtension”

Thank you

Thank you. Running the terminal command did it and I can now find the extension.

Most of the extensions with the .appex extension appear to be in : system/library/ExtensionKit/Extensions and I was expecting to find the Hookmark Finder extension there.

Still, it now works so all is good. Many thanks for the help.

Hello - long time user of Hookmark - and only just today discovered the Finder Extensions. (I think it took me time because I never knew about them and I couldn’t see them - so never thought of them)

Bottom line - I have same problem as @bchend described

Today I started again in the hope that something would break free - it didn’t

I used Hookmark via SetApp.

1. I uninstalled completely
  2. I ran clean my Mac in case anything lingered.
  3. I reinstalled Hookmark