Interfacing with the Dictionary App

I would be grateful for some pointers as to whether it is possible to create links to specific words and phrases in the Apple Dictionary app.

I ask for the following reason. The fundamental purpose of Hook, at least as I understand it, is to create a network (a graph) of documents (in the broadest sense) that are related to one another. Properly used this allows rapid navigation between those documents. For example, as a lawyer, I may read a client email and create a task or project in my “to do” manager. I link the email to the task so that, when I access the task, I can jump straight back to the email to send a reply. Equally, I may link the task to the contract I am drafting as part of that task and that contract to the precedent from which it is drawn. This is valuable; if I later access the precedent in the context of another project I can readily find all the contracts I have previously derived from it and thence those tasks/ projects/ matters.

This works, however, because I have a known start point in the graph of linked documents; the task, the email, the precedent, the contract. The problem – and I think this particularly applies to research and note taking – is that there are circumstances where one doesn’t have a known start point. There are times when the question is “what do I know about this topic?”. For example, I may have attended a CPD event some years ago and kept notes, but I might not even remember the event, let alone recognise its relevance, today (that’s certainly the case for my University notes, I’m always surprising myself that at one time I must have known the stuff well enough to pass an exam, but today …).