Hook to Apple Mail message alternates between message and app

Hi - firstly, thanks for a great app!

I’m just getting started, so this is probably user error, but I have a link I’ve added to Things, and when I click on that link it’ll first open the Apple Mail app to wherever it was last time I used it, next click of the link takes me to the specific message, which is what I actually want and then alternates between the two with each subsequent click. Is there a way to make it open the specific message every time?

Welcome to Hookmark forum, @Psionmark .

Sorry about this issue. What’s your macOS version?

If Mail app already open, will clicking on the link open the desired email?

Thank you

Hi - I’m on Ventura 13.5.1.

It does seem a little random. I closed down Mail, then clicked on the link in Things. This opened the Mail app, with the linked message in a window on the side, which is fine. I then closed the specific Mail message, clicked the link in Things again, and it just brought the Mail app to the foreground with a different message highlighted (and not open to the side).

Hope this helps - let me know if you need any more info. If I can get this working, it’d be a huge help as I’m moving to a different email provider which doesn’t currently have a Snooze function.

Update: I’ve updated my MacBook Air to Sonoma 14.1.1 and have the same problem. Also, the problem exists wherever I paste the Hookmark link to, so it’s not specific to Things.

Could you please replace the script in Hookmark → Preferences->Scripts->Mail->Open Item with the script below? Then click the save button and give it a try. Please wait several(3-7) seconds and see if the mail is opened.

Thank you

Summary
set MessageID to "$0"

set MessageID to text 9 thru -1 of MessageID
set MessageID to encodeText(MessageID, true, false)

tell application "Mail"
    activate
delay 2
    try
        set myurl to "open -a Mail \"message:%3c" & MessageID & "%3e\""
        do shell script myurl