Hook link with selected text?

Is there interest in a type of Hook link that includes selected text from the source? I’m thinking about a situation where I want to include additional text from a pdf file or web page like a title, author name, or quote in my new Hook note.

3 Likes

You can do this now by creating a Hook to New script.

Does anyone have any examples of this type of thing?

I have no experience in such scripting.
Thanks,
Timothy

Can anyone point me in the direction to learn how to edit a “Hook to New” script so it can acquire selected text?

I’m willing to learn, but I’m not finding the help I need in the support documents or forum.

Thanks,
Timothy

1 Like

Thanks for asking Timothy,

On this page Creating and Modifying Integration Scripts – Hook, you will find a section “Tutorial examples: Things , Xcode, Agenda and More” which links to a bunch of examples.

We have an internal feature request to provide some variants of Hook to New and Copy Link that will deal with the selection.

• Copy Quote and Link: this would copy both the quote and the link.
  • Hook to New and Copy Quote would Hook to New and copy the text so that you can paste it in the newly created item. That way, there would be no need to update every integration script.

There may be other variants.

Hook already has some alt / advanced commands when you hold down option key while selecting a menu. There will be more of them.

Hook Version 2.3 will enhance Hook to New in other ways.

More on the above anon.

Thanks. I appreciate the continuing development of Hook and look forward to the new features.

Thanks. But there is no guidance anywhere that I can find as to how to do that. Can you be more specific?

Thanks Luc, but can you explain what the user above is talking about when he says one can make a Hook to New script that puts selected text in the note automatically? I can’t find any guidance, even at the link you provide.

Thanks for this great app.