Create a new project - Hook multiple apps/files with one keystroke?

Hello.

I’m looking for a way to set up a boilerplate “project” in a bunch of apps at once.
Each project should include:

• a folder at ~/projects/[PROJECTNAME]
  • an OmniFocus Project (PROJECTNAME)
  • a new note in NotePlan (PROJECTNAME)
  • a new Gmail tag (/projects/[PROJECTNAME])
    And then hook them all together

Bonus if I can, with one keystroke, finish a project

• Move project folder into ~/projects/zArchive/
  • Mark Omnifocus Project Complete
  • Move Noteplan note into /zArchive
  • Move/Rename Gmail tag to /projects/zArchive/[ProjectName]

I’m not sure how to start…
Is there a way to accomplish this with hook? Shortcuts? Keyboard Maestro? Or do I need to Applescript the whole thing?

Would I be better off trying to Applescript this whole thing independently, and then puppet Hook to put hook them all together? Or should I have a subscript for each within hook, and then try to puppet hook to call all those internal scripts?

I’m an experienced Ruby developer - just starting to explore JXA/Applescript.

1 Like

Welcome to the Hook productivity forum, @johntrandall. The closest starting point in Hook itself is Hook to New> Folder.

Related blog posts on that:

But currently the Hook to New > folder feature is not configurable beyond the contents of the replicated folder. We are interested in developing that further based on user feedback. An obvious next step would be to make it possible for users to run a ‘post flight’ script after the Hook to New > folder command takes place. Another step would be to have a configuration file in the replicated Hook project template folder that Hook could read with instructions regarding what Hook should do next.