Arc vs. Hookmark: which is the most transformative app?

Arc vs. Hookmark: which is the most transformative app. Adam Engst thinks it is Arc? Let him know if you disagree: Arc Will Change the Way You Work on the Web - TidBITS. There’s a discourse forum comments section.

Adam’s a friend of mine (his son is a computer science [ML]. Ph.D. student at Simon Fraser University where I am an Adjunct Professor). But my take is that he has invested eons into Arc, enabling him to make it work for him. If he had spent a fraction of the time with Hookmark, would Hookmark top his list?

goliath vs. Hookmark?

The Browser Company - Crunchbase Company Profile & Funding:

TBC Total Funding Amount $18M.

CogSci Apps: undisclosed: but hint: bootstrapped with a bit of funding from myself and family. We also develop the acclaimed mySleepButton® app, which is also based on my contributions to integrative design-oriented cognitive science

About me:

Not an either or proposition

Hookmark is compatible with the Arc browser. We don’t at all compete with Arc; in fact, we make it much better, by enabling Arc users to connect web resources to just about anything.

Using Arc and Hookmark together, well, that would be superadditive (i.e., synergistic), would it not? :wink:

This topic on social media

This is discussed on Twitter, which I try to avoid; and on Mastodon:

Adam wrote:

I just spent a week backing up my claim that the Web browser Arc is “the most transformative app I’ve used in decades” by writing a 7100-word article illustrated with 35 screenshots.

@adamengst How can we believe the claim if Tidbits hasn’t covered Hookmark yet :slight_smile: ? Arc more transformative than Hookmark? not based on the user feedback I’ve received (but we don’t have VC backing…)

I.e., is this cognitive dissonance? Saying “that I’ve used” doesn’t exclude all apps that one has used but stopped using.

Please feel free to chime into the discussion there too :blush:.