Another request for creating a “mesh” of links

I am new to the Hook beta community. I am still working out exactly how and for what purpose to use Hook, but it is clearly something that is going to be of major use!

I share one problem/feature request that others have also pointed out. Quite frequently, what I am looking for in linking is neither a one-to-one or a one-to-many link setup, but rather a mesh.

For instance, it is very common that I have several files of various formats (Numbers, Pages, text files, PDFs, etc) along with other links such as emails, OmniFocus tasks, web pages etc, that are all part of something I am working on.

What I need here is a mesh of links, so a) everything is linked to everything else, and b) importantly, if I link something else into the project, I want it to be linked to everything else int he project, not just to one specific item.

Previously, this could be accomplished in a few different ways on MacOS. One is to create a folder for the project and put aliases to each file into the folder; another is to create a tag for the project, tag every file, and create a smart folder accumulating all files with that tag. The problem with this approach is that is it not smooth or convenient, and linking in non-file objects is difficult to impossible. Thus, Hook is really the solution I am looking for.

I therefore support the feature request that others have proposed: it would be great to have a “group” concept in which all items are intrinsically linked to all other items in the group, in addition to the more “standard” one-to-one concept in which a link is between two specific items. In creating a link, ideally the menu would have an entry for linking document to document and also provide a listing of all groups the document “belongs” to and selecting that group adds the new document to the group instead.

Thanks!

4 Likes

This proposal is very interesting and I will be happy to see it in future releases.