Problems linking several files from DEVONthink via menu bar icon

Hi I am new to Hook. I have played around with it for a few weeks and find it very useful. However, I would like to link several files together and tried to do so using the menu bar option. Nothing happens when I drag several files to the menu bar. Am I doing something wrong?

welcome to the Hook Productivity Forum, Jamie. And thanks for asking.

That should work.

If notifications are turned off you won’t get a notification. But the menu bar window should remain open for a moment and show you the result.

If you invoke Hook on one of the items, do you see the links?

You’ve probably seen this help page, but for everyone : Menu Bar Window – Hookmark

I don’t understand how this is supposed to work. Here’s what I was trying, maybe incorrectly.

I have three files.

A.png
B.png
C.png

I select “C.png”, click Hook, and Copy Link (command-c).

Then I select “A.png” and “B.png” at the same time. I click Hook and what I see is the name of the folder. So if I click Hook to Copied Links (command-v) what I have is “C.png” Hooked to the folder that all three files are in.

What I wanted is “C.png” Hooked to both “A.png” and “B.png”. I can do this one-by-one (C then Hook to A, then Hook B to C). Maybe what I thought would happen cannot happen?

Katie

Currently, Hook does not support Hook to Copied Link on multiple files. That’s been on the to do list for quite a while. We’ve been considering having a Finder extension like Dropbox provides.

However, the menu bar icon does allow you to create the type of network you want:

to hook C to both A and B

1. drag C onto the menu bar icon.
  2. drag A and B to Hook’s menu bar icon